Located north of Lyon in eastern France, Beaujolais overlaps Burgundy in the north and Rhône in the south. The picturesque Beaujolais vineyards run along the Saône River, where winemakers have crafted deliciously supple and fruity wines since the days of Ancient Rome.

Over mainly granite terrain, the Beaujolais Crus form a meandering path. From south to north, Brouilly is followed by Côte de Brouilly, Régnié, Morgon, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Moulin-à-Vent, Chénas, Juliénas and Saint-Amour.

The region has ideal growing conditions. It receives lots of sunshine and has granite-based soils that lend excellent structure to the wines. The Gamay grape is used to make all Beaujolais wines with the exception of white Beaujolais, or Beaujolais blanc, which is made of Chardonnay grapes.

Most of the harvesting is made manually in the Beaujolais region. Handpicking means entire bunches can be vatted to allow a certain kind of maceration. This winemaking is specific to the Beaujolais region.

Total surface area of vine growing area: 61 square miles

Grape Variety: Gamay Noir à Jus Blanc for reds and rosés (98 percent of production) and some Chardonnay for the white wines

Average annual production: 700,000 hl

Number of appellations: 12, including 10 Crus
1. Brouilly
2. Chénas
3. Chiroubles
4. Côte de Brouilly
5. Fleurie
6. Juliénas
7. Morgon
8. Moulin-à-Vent
9. Régnié
10. Saint-Amour
11. Beaujolais
12. Beaujolais Villages

Number of winegrowers: 2,000

Average surface area of an estate: .04 square miles

Copyrights: Gillet – Inter Beaujolais

Required plugin "Meks Easy Photo Feed Widget" is required. Please install the plugin here. or read more detailed instruction about How to setup the plugin here